View Thread

DEADLINE APPROACHING: 2024 SIM-ONE Junior Faculty Consortium Call for Applications

  • 1.  DEADLINE APPROACHING: 2024 SIM-ONE Junior Faculty Consortium Call for Applications

    Posted 29 days ago

    Academy of Management

    SIM-ONE Divisions' 2024 Junior Faculty Consortium

    "Organizational Innovation for the Future: Purpose, Policy, People, and Planet"

    The SIM-ONE Junior Faculty Consortium is an annual event that provides an opportunity for early-career faculty members and postdocs who are members of the Social Issues in Management (SIM) and/or Organizations and the Natural Environment (ONE) divisions to network with senior faculty members, learn and develop their research ideas.

    We would like to invite applicants to register for the SIM-ONE Junior Faculty Consortium. The application deadline is May 31st, 2024. The event will take place on Saturday, August 10th, 2024, from 10 am to 3 pm (Chicago time). Save the date!

    Under the subject "Organizational Innovation for the Future: Purpose, Policy, People, and Planet", and echoing the annual meeting theme "Innovating for the Future: Policy, Purpose, and Organizations," the consortium will delve into a discussion of how our research and teaching can help business organizations provide for the well-being of people and the planet. Furthermore, it is a great opportunity to reorient our attention to the role that organizations from the public, private, and plural sectors can play in shaping policies that address some of the most intractable challenges facing humanity including climate change.

    The following senior faculty members have already agreed to participate in the SIM-ONE Junior Faculty Consortium:

    ●       J. Alberto Aragon-Correa University of Granada

    ●       Sophie Bacq IMD Business School

    ●       Michael Barnett Rutgers Business School

    ●       Jill Brown Bentley University

    ●       Valentina DeMarchi ESADE

    ●       Michelle Greenwood Monash University

    ●       Jennifer Griffin Loyola University (Chicago)

    ●       Nardia Haigh University of Massachusetts-Boston

    ●       Olga Hawn University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    ●       Kai Hockerts Copenhagen Business School

    ●       Joern Hoppmann University of Oldenburg/ETH Zurich

    ●       Sergio Lazzarini Ivey Business School

    ●       Andrea Prado INCAE Business School

    ●       Steve Sauerwald University of Houston

    ●       Harry Van Buren University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

    ●       Sandra Waddock Boston College

    ●       Heli Wang Singapore Management University

    ●       David Wasieleski Duquesne University

    ●       Jeffrey York University of Colorado

    ●       Anastasiya Zavyalova Rice University

    Now, all we need is you! We encourage you to apply early because the event is oversubscribed each year. We also invite deans, department chairs, and other senior or junior faculty members to nominate their colleagues. The application process is the following: 

    ●      You must be in the first five years of your employment as a faculty member or a postdoctoral position.

    ●      Your application must include a short CV and an extended abstract of a working paper (not more than 5 pages). Please also indicate two preferred senior scholars you would like to discuss your research with. We will do our best to respect your choices.

    ●      Please send your application to Jason Pattit (, with a copy to Christina Bidmon ( by May 31st, 2024.

    ●      We have a capacity of 30 participants. We will inform all applicants about the outcome of their application by June 30th, 2024.

    ●      Please note that the SIM and ONE divisions have a limited number of waivers for the conference registration fee of a few SIM or ONE members who do not get their fees reimbursed from their home institution (it is not guaranteed). Indicate in your application if you will request a registration fee waiver and from which division (SIM or ONE) with a confirmation that your home institution does not reimburse the fee and we will inform you of the outcome.

    The organizers for this year's consortium are Jason Pattit (SIM), Sana Chiu (SIM), Christina Bidmon (ONE), and Ju Young Lee (ONE).

    The lead sponsor this year is the SIM Division. Please email any questions and comments to Jason Pattit at (cc: Sana Chiu,

    We look forward to meeting you in Chicago!

    Jason, Sana, Christina, and Ju Young

    Jason Pattit
    Professor of Management
    University of St. Thomas