View Thread

How to navigate the academic job market? - May 17th (online)

  • 1.  How to navigate the academic job market? - May 17th (online)

    Posted 13 days ago
    Dear ONE colleagues,

    A final reminder about an online event organised by the Social Issues in Management (SIM) division of the Academy of Management on May 17th at 1800 -  2000 CEST (0900 - 1100 PST; 1200 - 1400 EDT; 1700 - 1900 BST; 2130 - 2330 IST) to help junior scholars in the broad field of social issues in management (e.g., business ethics, CSR, environment, governance, society, sustainability, etc.) to listen to experiences from recruiters and recruited candidates from different parts of the world.

    We have invited a panel of scholars from Recruiting Committees (Stephen Brammer (Bath, UK), Jason Pattit (St Thomas, USA), & Jo-Ellen Pozner (Santa Clara, USA) and a panel of recently recruited candidates (Julia Grimm (Jönköping, Sweden), Kam Phung (currently Cambridge, soon to join Simon Fraser, Canada), & Milo Wang (Arizona State, USA)) to discuss their experiences, share tips and tricks, and answer your questions, for instance on teaching load, research support, or academic culture in the respective institutes.

    It is a chance to explore and understand the academic climate around the world by talking to scholars who have been involved in the recruitment process, from different sides of the table and in different regions of the world.

    The panel discussion will be via Zoom on May 17th from 1800 - 2000 CEST (0900 - 1100 PST; 1200 - 1400 EDT; 1700 - 1900 BST; 2130 - 2330 IST), moderated by Frank de Bakker (IESEG, France) & Sebastian Hafenbrädl (IESE, Spain). Please pre-register for attending the event:
    https://bit.ly/sim_jm

    ------------------------------
    Sarah Stephen
    University of St. Gallen
    St Gallen
    Switzerland
    ------------------------------