Discussion: View Thread

Invitation to a unique event at AOM Boston

  • 1.  Invitation to a unique event at AOM Boston

    Posted 07-27-2019 14:04

    Are you curious about the meaning of "Responsible Research?" Do you want to find out how to engage in research that yields credible knowledge, impacts practice, and contributes to a better world? We will have those answers and more at the "IACMR-RRBM Responsible Research in Management Award" Ceremony and Celebration on Sunday, August 11, 2019, Sheraton Boston Hotel, Independence West Room, 4:30pm – 6:30pm followed by Reception till 8:00 pm.

    This IACMR-RRBM Award recognizes excellent scholarship that focuses on important issues for business and society and uses sound research methods to yield credible results. Nominated publications should meet the criteria for responsible research and were published within five years of the nomination date. A panel of accomplished reviewers (including many AOM Fellows) reviewed these nominations. In 2018, the Award added an executive review committee in the evaluation process. Executives reviewed the short list of papers and books based on the academic review for their application to practice or policy. See here for the list of 2018-2019 reviewers.

    In this Award ceremony, we honor the authors of the 12 winners (10 articles and two books) selected during the Inaugural year (2017-2018) and authors of three Distinguished Winners, 12 Winners and eight Finalists selected during the second year (2018-2019). These winners authored 18 articles and five books. The winners over the two years represent less than 20% of the total number of nominations. These studies are truly the "best of the best" published work that exemplifies the Seven Principles of responsible research, contributing credible evidence and striving for broad and significant societal benefits.

    Please join us in the first-ever Responsible Research in Management Award Ceremony, to honor the authors of the winning research projects. We look forward to welcoming you to this celebration of highly impactful works, both in the knowledge created and in their potential value for society!

    Neng Liang and Ray Friedman, Past and Current Presidents of IACMR
    Anne S. Tsui, Bill Glick, and Mary Jo Bitner, Co-Chairs of RRBM Working Board

    Xi Wen Chan
    Assistant Professor